CMPS 3233 - THEORY of COMPUTATION
               Fall 2013

       11:00 - 11:50 MWF - Bolin 320

Dr. Ranette Halverson, Bolin 126A, 940.397.4189 
ranette.halverson@mwsu.edu

Textbook:  Automata, Computability, and Complexity -
                 Elaine Rich (Pearson-Prentice Hall)


Syllabus

Email Assignment - due Fri., August 30

Test #1 - - Monday, September 23 - bring Blue Book - Corrections due Wed., Oct 2
                T1 Study List
Test #2 - - Wednesday, October 23 - bring Blue Book
                 T2 Study Guide
Test #3 - - Monday, November 25 - bring Blue Book

Final Exam - Monday, December 9 - 10:30 a.m.

Power Point Slides
Chapters 1 & 2 - Introduction & Terminology
Chapter 3 - Language Hierarchy
Chapter 4 - Computation
Chapter 5A - Finite State Machines (part 1)
Chapter 5B - Finite State Machines (part 2)
Chapter 6 - Regular Expressions
Chapter 7 - Regular Grammars
Chapter 11 - Context Free Grammars
Chapter 12 - Pushdown Automata
Chapter 17 - Turing Machines

Tina's Chap 3 --- Tina's Chap 4

Project - Due Wed., Nov. 6 - (5 bonus points for turning in 1 week or more befofre due date)
    DATA File

Homework - keep copy for reference during class
Chapter 2 - Due Monday, 9-9: 3, 6b, 7b, 8d, 8k
Chapter 2b - Due Friday, 9-13:  1-explain, 4, 5b, 6a-explain, 7e-explain
Chapter 3 - Problems 2 & 3 (not to be turned in)
Chapter 5 - Slide 61 on slides 5A - Monday, Oct. 7
Minimize worksheet
DFSM Worksheet - Due
DFSM Worksheet 2 - Due
Chapter 6 - Pg 151- 1a, 2a, 2j, 2t - Due Friday, Nov. 1
Chapter 7 - Pg. 161, Problems 1 - 5 (all) - Due

Quizzes
Chapter 2 - Problems like at end of chapter - Mon,. Sept. 16
Chapter 2 - Definitions only - Friday, Sept. 6
Chapter 5 - From Ques. 1-6 - Mon., Oct 14
Chapter 6 - Regular Expressions - Fri., Nov. 8
Chapter 7 - Regular Grammars - Fri., Nov. 15

Extra Credit
Faculty Forum Featuring Dr. Catherine Stringfellow - Tues., Nov. 12 - 7:30 p.m. - CSC Shawnee Theater
                 Presentation approx. 1 hour - snacks provided - sign-in with Dr. Halverson - 5 pts. to a test grade