CMPS 1053 Computer Science II

Spring 2012 - Dr. Ranette Halverson

MWF 11:00 - 11:50 a.m.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Course Syllabus & Policies

Exam 3: - Friday, April 27 (tentative) - Bring a Blue Book
    Classes, Pointers, Linked Lists, Recursion, Trees, Complexity


Final Exam - Monday, May 7 - 10:30~12:30

Power Point Slides
  
(not necessarily in this order; not always entire chapter)
    Chapter 8 - Arrays
    Chapter 7 - Intro. to Classes & OOP (through slide 31)
    Chapter 9 - Search, Sort, Analysis (9.6 slides 23-32) 
    Chapter 10 - Pointers
    Chapter 11 - Classes, OOP
    Chapter 14 - Recursion
    Chapter 15 - Polymorphism, Virtual Functions
    Chapter 17 - Linked Lists
                 Linked
List Code for Class (updated 3-19-12)
                 Passing File Name to Function
    Chapter 18 - Stacks, Queue - Section 18.1
    Chapter 19 - Binary Trees

Programs
    C++ Programming Style
    Program 1 - Lottery (arrays): Due Mon., Jan 30 (extended Noon Jan. 31)
       
Data File - Data & Output instructions

    Program 2 - Drink Machine Simulation: Due Mon, Feb. 13
       Data File
   
Program 3 - Stack Class - Due Mon., Feb. 20
       Data File        
   
Program 4 - Postfix - Due Friday, March 2
       
Data Files: PostEval & PostConvert
   Program 5
- Linked List Class - Due Wed., March 28
       
Data File
   Program 6
- Linked List Application - Due Wed., Apr. 11
        Data File 1; Data File 2 
   
Program 7
- Recursion - Due Friday, April 20
        Add a recursive Print function to class in Program 6.
        Use Data File 1 from P6 to build the list then print using the new function
   Program 8 - Build binary search tree & print 3 traversals
        Data File 

Homework
   Email - Due Fri, Jan. 20
    Write a Car class: Problem 12 page 480 - Due Fri., Feb. 10 (typed preferred)
    Recursion Homework - Due

   
Current Events Essay - Due
    Pointer Homework
- Due Fri., Mar 2 (turn in -keep copy)    
    Array Problems

Quizzes
   All so far - Fri., Jan. 27
   Arrays - Mon., Feb. 6

Handouts
   Sample Array Problems

   2-D Array Problems
   Postfix Handout & Homework - Due Wed. Feb 22

 

Extra Credit

** Speakers & Issues presentations Feb. 9 & 27 and March 29 **

** North Texas Area Student Conference: Sat. March 31: 8:30 - 3:00: Bolin Science Hall

    Go to cs.mwsu.edu to register. Will receive 10 points on an exam.